Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Bird Anatomy and Form

August 28 @ 8:00 am 6:00 pm PDT

Sunday, August 28

(Part 1) 8:00–11:00 am PDT/ 11:00 am–2:00 pm EDT

(Part 2) 12:00–3:00 pm PDT/ 3:00–6:00 pm EDT

Explore bird anatomy and structure to help you create fast and accurate field sketches or careful studio pieces with the help of reference. This 1-day, 6-hr workshop (with a 1-hour lunch break) will teach you to deeply understand bird structure and how to suggest what you know instead of getting lost in the feathers. We will also explore how to capture bird posture and proportions, draw foreshortened birds, and represent their textures with pencil, watercolor, gouache, and toned paper.


Course materials

  • Sketchbook
  • Graphite pencil
  • Prismacolor col erase non-photo blue pencil
  • A variety of light value Gouache paints: My kit contains Permanent White, M Graham Hansa Yellow Light. Holbein Permanent Yellow Orange, Holbein Brilliant Pink. Holbein Lilic, Holbein Aqua Blue. Holbein Leaf Green, Holbein Permanent Green Light. Shminkie Titanium Gold Ochre, Holbein Yellow Ochre. Holbein Gray #1, Holbein Gray #2
  • Your regular watercolor palette
  • Gray toned paper
  • Your favorite brushes
$120

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.